Skip to navigation Skip to content

Our Commitment to Empowerment

Paul Newman believed in the power of the helping hand to improve lives in meaningful and enduring ways. He felt that his own good luck gave him a duty to assist others in need.
 
Newman’s Own Foundation continues Paul’s commitment by funding organizations that empower people to overcome extraordinary adverse circumstances, and/or provide equal access to human rights and contribute to the development of a civil society.
 
Below are some of the many organizations generating impact, both in immediate ways and over the long-term.
 
Calvary Fund of Calvary Hospital  www.calvaryhospital.org
The Discovery Center www.discoveringdiversity.com
D-REV d-rev.org
Horizons National www.horizonsnational.org
International Rescue Committee  rescue.org
Mothers2Mothers www.m2m.org
Our Piece of the Pie www.opp.org
The Paper Fig Foundation www.paperfigfoundation.org
Safe Water Network  www.safewaternetwork.org
Shining Hope for Communities  www.shininghopeforcommunities.org
Tahirih Justice Center www.tahirih.org
The Women’s Bakery www.womensbakery.com
 
 

Support for Animal Charities

Newman’s Own Foundation supports charities that provide for the health, well-being, and dignity of animals. The Foundation empowers our non-human friends to live their best lives. Organizations include:
 
Connecticut Humane Society www.cthumane.org
Green Chimneys www.greenchimneys.org
High Hopes highhopestr.org
Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk www.maritimeaquarium.org
National Disaster Search Dog Foundation searchdogfoundation.org
Our Companions www.ourcompanions.org
Wild Earth Allies wildearthallies.org
 
 

Support for Independent Media

Paul Newman believed that civil discourse plays a vital role in making our world a better place. He valued the independent voice as a source for news, information, and open dialogue. Newman’s Own Foundation continues Paul’s commitment to public broadcasting and other independent media, including the following stations:
 
Arizona State University Foundation for a New American University (Eight Arizona PBS) www.azpbs.org
Blue Ridge Public Television www.wbra.org
Channel 5 Public Broadcasting (KNPB) www.knpb.org
Connecticut Public Broadcasting Network cpbn.org
Florida West Coast Public Broadcasting (WEDU) www.wedu.org
Foundation for Public Broadcasting in Georgia (Georgia Public Broadcasting) www.gpb.org
Greater Washington Educational Telecommunications Association (WETA) www.weta.org
KCETLink (KCET) www.kcet.org
Minnesota Public Radio www.mpr.org
National Public Radio www.npr.org
North Texas Public Broadcasting (KERA) www.kera.org
The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois (Illinois Public Media) will.illinois.edu
WNET/Channel 13 www.thirteen.org

 

Support for Veterans

Newman’s Own Foundation honors the service of military personnel, veterans, and their families. The Foundation has identified organizations that provide career training, support for higher education, and other critical assistance, some of which are listed below. Learn more about this commitment here
 
Applied Behavioral Rehabilitation Institute www.homesforthebrave.org
Bunker Incubator NFP bunkerlabs.org
Connecticut Public Broadcasting Network cpbn.org
Dog Tag Bakery  www.dogtagbakery.com
Farmer Veteran Coalition www.farmvetco.org
Fidelco Guide Dog Foundation www.fidelco.org
Fisher House Foundation www.fisherhouse.org
Help Our Military Heroes www.helpourmilitaryheroes.org
Independence Corps www.independencecorps.org
IVMF at Syracuse University vets.syr.edu
Jonas Project: thejonasproject.org
Rodale Institute rodaleinstitute.org
Sentinels of Freedom Scholarship Foundation www.sentinelsoffreedom.org
Service to School service2school.org
Student Veterans of America studentveterans.org
UCLA Foundation www.uclafoundation.org
University of Connecticut Foundation www.foundation.uconn.edu
University of Minnesota Foundation give.umn.edu
Warrior Scholar Project warrior-scholar.org
Women's Business Development Center www.wbdc.org
Work Vessels for Veterans www.workvesselsforveterans.org

Focus Areas

Focus Areas

Our grants focus on four areas where we see the potential for transformational change.

 

Learn More