Skip to navigation Skip to content

Our Commitment to Philanthropy

"The need is great and so are the opportunities to make a difference.”

Paul Newman wanted to make the world a better place, and he inspired many others to do the same. For example, in 1999, he gathered a group of CEOs to launch CECP (Committee Encouraging Corporate Philanthropy). They believed that corporations can and should be a force for good in society.

Newman’s Own Foundation continues Paul’s commitment to helping others give back by:

  •  Funding organizations and professional associations that provide training, networking, start-up costs and/or other types of support to nurture the development of social enterprises (those that help others and/or give 100% of profits to charity);
  • Directly supporting young people entering careers in the nonprofit sector, through the Newman’s Own Foundation Fellowship Program;
  • Providing guidance to businesses that have models similar to Newman’s Own, i.e., giving 100% of profits to charity.
  • Encouraging donors to support nonprofits through the use of “challenge” grants that match donations dollar-for-dollar.
 
Below are a few of the many organizations that promote the practice of philanthropy and/or rely on philanthropic support to fulfill their missions.
 
Campus Compact compact.org
CECP cecp.co
Center for Higher Ambition www.higherambition.org
Connecticut Council for Philanthropy www.ctphilanthropy.org
Council on Foundation: www.cof.org
D&F Academy - DO School thedoschool.org
Echoing Green www.echoinggreen.org
Emerging Practitioners in Philanthropy www.epip.org
Fairfield County's Community Foundation ccfoundation.org
Forum of Regional Associations of Grantmakers www.givingforum.org
Hispanics in Philanthropy www.hiponline.org
Independent Sector www.independentsector.org
Kiva Microfunds www.kiva.org
MIT D Lab d-lab.mit.edu
Native Americans in Philanthropy nativephilanthropy.org
Net Impact www.netimpact.org
Points of Light Foundation www.pointsoflight.org
Positive Tracks www.positivetracks.org
Propeller gopropeller.org
Social Enterprise Greenhouse segreenhouse.org
The Resolution Project www.resolutionproject.org
World Affairs Council of Northern California www.worldaffairs.org
Young Nonprofits Professionals Network (YNPN) www.ynpn.org
Youth Service America www.ysa.org

Focus Areas

Focus Areas

Our grants focus on four areas where we see the potential for transformational change.

 

Learn More